You Are Enough

You are enough. If you know me in person, there is a chance you’ve noticed that I have had that phrase tattooed into my forearm. I got my first small tattoo a year or so after my thru-hike. Everyone thinks it’s an arrow, but it’s actually the symbol of the Appalachian Trail. It’s a small reminder to myself of just how much I’ve accomplished in my life. I look at it and see that if I can hike 2200 miles, I can certainly make it through the day, that I can succeed at tasks that might seem insurmountable at first.

But getting the small AT symbol on my wrist was like the start of a drug addiction that I have to resist at every turn. Tattoos are beautiful, a way for me to choose how to display my appearance in ways that I can control. Fortunately for my budget and savings account, I’ve managed to mostly resist. After a few years of therapy, however, I wanted to celebrate what felt like (and was) incredible progress in managing my sense of self worth, Eating Disorder (ED) recovery. After playing around with phrases, I stuck with “You Are Enough.” When I look at it, I’m reminded that I don’t need to play into the comparison of internal self to external other. (And in case you haven’t intuited what that means, it means comparing how I see myself to how others present their best selves and feeling as if I come up severely short)

I’ve been able to use it as an example in conversations with friends who are down on themselves, been reminded of it in downward dog in a yoga class and remembered it when running my fingers down my arms. Once, I was reminded of its existence when I pulled up on my bike next to a guy on his bike and he noticed it. I needed the reminder then. Oftentimes, I remember its existence at the exact right time. They are reminders and boosters for myself, and a motto that I use to remind others of their own worth. I find it amazing just how many friends and acquaintance admit to feeling inferior or have low self-worth. When I remind them that they are great as they are, that they don’t need to be different or better, the looks of relief and pleasure on their faces shows me how much people are stuck in a spiral of low self-worth, self-criticism, and self-recriminations.

The simple phrase of telling people that they don’t need to be more, that they can ignore the messaging that we are always not enough, that this product, that service will make you better, that we have to rely on outside sources for our sense of worth and being.

None of those messages are true. You (and I) are enough. As we are, right now. Remember thatIMG_20150314_170729.jpg

6 thoughts on “You Are Enough

  1. Cede says:

    Love this post and you! I have ‘live’ on my wrist for along the same reasons you chose yours. A daily reminder to not stagnate and to live to the best of my potential.

    Like

  2. kendra says:

    I remember catching sight of “You are enough” on your arm at a moment when I really needed it in a meeting one day. I actually had an affection for that particular phrase for a long time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

